Local 243 Elections

Checkmark-225wA message from Local 243 President Marie Dusio: I spoke with the election committee yesterday. The results are still being verified so the election can be certified. The current challenge is that they are trying to get responses concerning all of the write-in votes – we can’t force someone to accept a position, so they are making sure those who won by write-in accept.

Ballot BoxMembers running for office in the Local 243 Spring Elections were given an opportunity to submit brief biographic statements in support of their candidacy.

Rhoda McKinney (candidate for PSRP/ESP Chapter Vice-President) and Jon Cole (candidate for PSRP/ESP Forum delegate) have done so. The statements below are presented in the order they were submitted. They are complete and unedited.

[click to continue…]


Here is a list of the candidates running for Local 243 offices in our Spring 2015 elections. These are the names and positions that will be on the ballot members will receive via email. Provisions for write-in candidates will also be made on the ballot. The election will take place from May 8 to May 15, 2015.

  • PSRP/ESP Chapter Vice-President – Rhoda McKinney
  • PSRP/ESP Chapter Secretary – Chris Henker
  • Classification Officer – Annie Neuberger
  • Faculty Chapter Grievance Officer – OPEN
  • Faculty Chapter Secretary – OPEN
  • 2 PSRP/ESP Forum reps – Saul Castillo, Alexandra Vazquez, Walter Ma, Jonathan Cole, Annie Neuberger
  • 2 Faculty Forum reps OPEN
  • 5 Faculty Chapter Bargaining Team representatives – Mike Lussenden, Theresa Valencia + 3 other positions OPEN
  • 5 PSRP/ESP Chapter Bargaining Team representatives – Annie Neuberger + 4 other positions OPEN

Only members in good standing of Local 243 can serve as officers or committee members. Membership can be renewed at any time.

A message from Local 243 Election Committee Chair Jonathan Pollack:

Dear brothers and sisters of Local 243,

As this is an odd-numbered year, we need to elect:

  • PSRP/ESP Chapter Vice-President
  • Classification Officer
  • Faculty Chapter Grievance Officer
  • Faculty Chapter Secretary
  • 2 PSRP/ESP Forum reps
  • 2 Faculty Forum reps
  • 5 Bargaining Team members from each chapter

Nominations are due by April 30, 2015.  You may nominate yourself or another member. Only members in good standing of Local 243 can serve as officers or committee members. Membership can be renewed at any time. Please send nominations to JPollack@madisoncollege.edu

Campaigning by candidates will run from May 1 through May 7, 2015. The election itself will take place from May 8 to May 15, 2015

Checkmark-225wA message from the Local 243 Election Committee: The election committee would like to thank all those who considered serving the needs of their union brothers and sisters by allowing themselves to be nominated for office. We also thank those who voted and helped to ensure democracy within our Union. Now, let’s pledge ourselves to work with those we have elected to build a strong local that can effectively address our common needs and give collective voice to our hopes and aspirations for the College, its students, staff, and the communities it serves.

Update (5/5/2014): We inadvertently left Vickie Boeder off the list of delegates to the AFT-Wisconsin Convention. She received 93 votes. The complete tally document mentioned in the next paragraph has been updated.

A complete tally of the election results is available for download from this website as a PDF.

Spring 2014 Election Candidate Bios/Statments available for download from Local 243 website

April 28, 2014

The Election Committee offered all candidates nominated and running for office in the Local 243 Spring 2014 Election the option to submit “Candidate Bios/Statements” for distribution to voters. Sixteen candidates submitted bios/statements. These bios/statements are available as a seven-page PDF that may be downloaded from this website. Please note, according to Election Committee officials who […]

Read the full article →