July 2014

The new AFT National officers elected at the 2014 Convention are (left to right)  Lorretta Johnson , Randi Weingarten, and Mary Cathryn Ricker

The new AFT National officers elected at the 2014 Convention are (left to right) Lorretta Johnson, Randi Weingarten, and Mary Cathryn Ricker

Ten members of Local 243 attended the AFT National Conference held in Los Angeles, California from July 10-14, 2014 as delegates. They participated in workshops, listened to a range of inspirational speeches, and unanimously voted for the Progressive Caucus of- Randi Weingarten President, Loretta Johnson AFT Secretary/Treasurer, Mary Cathryn Ricker AFT Executive Vice President. A convention summary, including the list of Local 243 delegates is available for download from this website.

Click here to see YouTube videos of two of the inpsirational speeches delivered at the convention

Social-MediaSocial media is an increasingly important way to communicate. AFT National has a Twitter account and a Facebook page. FOLLOW the Twitter account and LIKE the Facebook page to stay abreast of issues affecting AFT members.

Also remember that you can share posts from this blog by using the buttons at the end of each post.

Strike Back Joe BurnsJoin fellow union members from throughout the Madison area at the Madison Labor Temple on Thursday, July 17, 2014 to hear author Joe Burns discuss his new book, “Strike Back.” There will be a reception at 5:30 p.m. and the book talk and discussion will begin at 6 p.m.

According to the author, “During the 1960s and 1970s, teachers, sanitation workers and many other public employees rose up to demand collective bargaining rights in one of the greatest upsurges in labor history. These workers were able to transform the nature of public employment, winning union recognition for millions and ultimately forcing reluctant politicians to pass laws allowing for collective bargaining and even the right to strike.”

[click to continue…]